Pillar or Absalom's Tomb
structure in the Kidron Valley - Absalom's Tomb. A lofty
22 meters in height, it was hewn out of the rock and is
completely separate from the slope behind it. Columns and
capitals decorate the massive lower part of the monument,
which is distinguished by a round top ending in a long,
thin point. The shrine dates back to the first century B.C.E
- nearly a millennium after Absalom rebelled against his
father King David and was run through with a javelin by
the King's captain. In earlier centuries passersby of all
religions would throw stones at Absalom's mammoth structure.
Indeed Moslems, who revere King David, almost covered it
with rocks. It is said that Jewish parents would bring disobedient
offspring to the almost hidden monument, point out the stones,
and warn them that "this is what happens to children who
behave badly to their fathers!" A tomb believed to be that
of King Jehoshaphat is situated behind and to the left of
Absalom's monument. Uncovered in 1924, it contains several
chambers and a beautifully decorated lintel. The Bible says
that "Jehoshaphat rested with his fathers and was buried
with them in the city of David his father. And Jehoram his
son succeeded him." [1 Kings 22:50]. Discovery of the tomb
helped strengthen an identification of the Kidron Valley
with the Valley of Jehoshaphat. For it is written: "I will
gather all nations and bring them down to the Valley of
Jehoshaphat. There I will enter into judgment against them
concerning my inheritance, my people Israel, for they scattered
my people among the nations and divided up my land." [Joel
Aviva Bar-Am -
Crusader church built by the Knights Hospitalers in 1142.
10 miles west of Jerusalem, an Arab village, where the
Ark of the Covenant rested for 20 years prior to being
taken by David to Jerusalem; the site of a Roman fortress
of the 10th Legion and a Crusader church.
Tor Observation Point
Abu Tor neighborhood is an even newer walkway - the Gabriel
Sherover Promenade. This promenade descends through beautifully
landscaped and carefully tended gardens, with equally
magnificent views over the Old City and the surrounding
Inside Rehov Heleni HaMalka 13, an open-air display of
ancient local farm tools.
Kikar Ilit, Romema, commemorating the British entry into
Jerusalem in 1917.
Hill (Givat Hatachmoshet)
Imagine it is 1967 and you are a soldier in the Israel
Defense Forces. For two days you have been fighting endless
battles in an effort to liberate Jerusalem from the hands
of the Jordanians. From this hilltop you can see all of
East Jerusalem and the walls of the Old City in the distance.
You know that this battle will determine the fate of Jerusalem.
On this spot, Ammunition Hill stood the main Jordanian
command post and served as a link to the Jordanian chain
of positions. The hill was part of the borderline that
divided Jerusalem since its partition in 1948. Ammunition
Hill is the main official memorial symbolizing the liberation
and reunification of Jerusalem. The fortification is preserved
as it was in the war and there is an underground museum
that commemorates the soldiers who fell in the battle
as well as an exhibit displaying the stages of the battle
of the three brigades, the Air Force and the Central Command
who liberated Jerusalem. 183 soldiers fell in those six
days of fighting and the museum of Ammunition Hill is
dedicated to their memory. It was here that many lost
their lives and it was the capture of this hill that made
it possible for the Israeli soldiers to forge ahead into
the Old City and eventually allow the paratroopers to
reconquer the Old City of Jerusalem.
was erected by Herod the Great on the eastern edge of
the city, near today's Lion's Gate. This is the starting
point of the traditional "Via Dolorosa," which runs westward
to the Basilica of the Holy Sepulcher.
spring guarding the ruins of a Crusader convent.
collection comprises hundreds of items, which show the
history of Armenians on the Holy Land. Opening hours:
Mon. - Sat - 10:00-16:00 Entrance fee, Saint James St.,
In the Armenian Quarter only one sector is actually occupied
by the Armenian compound. The Armenian compound has a
wall around it enclosing the big cathedral and its adjoining
buildings. The rest of the quarter had to have a name.
It wasn't Jewish, it wasn't Moslem, it wasn't Christian.
So they applied to this section the name of its neighbor
Armenian - simply a convenient fiction. Recently, an American
Christian scholar made a study of the divisions of Jerusalem,
and rightly calls this sector Hart el Yahud that means
"The Jewish Section (of the Armenian Quarter)." Thus,
here is an admission, from a non-Jew, that the 'Armenian
Quarter' had a very heavy concentration of Jews.
is really unique - one of its kind in the world. You are
invited to travel with us through 2700 years of Babylonian
Jewry history - Since they were exiled from the land of
Israel and until their eventual return from Iraq to their
former homeland. The Babylonian Jewry Heritage Center
is both a Research Institute and a Museum, with an impressive
collection of ethnographic material, judaica, archival
documents, books and manuscripts. The BJHC publishes research
work and journals, organizes exhibitions and holds cultural
events and conferences. We have strong ties with Jews
of Iraqi origin both in Israel and in the Diaspora, and
are in the process of compiling an extensive genealogical
database of families originating in Iraq.
Hezir's (St. James) Tomb
Tomb of St. James and Zachariah (Family of Bene Hezir)
- rock cut tomb in Kidron Valley, East of Temple Mount.
Tomb of St. James - 2nd half of 2nd Century BC, several
burial chambers behind loggia-like facade with decorated
architrave. Tomb of Zachariah - 1st Century BC, rock cut
with Ionic columns and pyramidal roof.
16, Rehov Klausner, Talpiyyot, the house of S.Y. Agnon,
winner of the Nobel Prize for literature. It contains
his study and extensive library, pictures, a display of
his books and a reproduction of his Nobel Prize Certificate.
Sun. to Thurs. 9--12 a.m. Guided tours for groups and
afternoon visiting hours are available by advance arrangement.
Pool of Bethesda is adjacent to St. Anne's Church. It
is mentioned in the Gospel of John (5:2ff.) in conjunction
with Jesus' healing of a paralyzed man.
of Beitphage, during
construction of a Franciscan monastery in the year 1876,
a wondrous stone was revealed. Shaped like a cube and
covered in plaster, the rock had been an integral part
of a twelfth-century Crusader church once located in the
ancient village of Beitphage. The Crusaders believed that
Jesus used this rock to mount the colt before taking that
last fateful journey to Jerusalem. It is called the Stele
(stone monument) of Beitphage. Yet the site where the
stone was discovered had been considered holy for hundreds
of years before the Crusaders constructed their sanctuary.
In fact, there was already a shrine in Beitphage in the
fourth century. That chapel commemorated the encounter
between Jesus, Lazarus, and Martha. Visiting hours: Daily
8:00-11:30, 14:00-16:30 To enter the gate, pull the rope.
A guard will let you in.
in the bible a number of times. Excavations from the period
of the Judges. Fortification from the Israelite Monarchy
Judean Hills, on the Bethlehem-Hebron road, 6 km. north
of Hebron. Site of ancient Beit Tzur, which controlled
the Jerusalem-Hebron road and was therefore a battle ground
at various periods. Inheritance of the tribe of Yehudah
(Joshua 15, 52). One of the cities fortified by Rehoboam
(Chronicles II, 11, 7). The town was re-fortified by Shimon
the Hasmonean. Belt Tzur is mentioned in the Shivat Zion
period as an important town whose citizens took part in
building Jerusalem Excavations revealed remains form Israelite
period and nearby at Hurbot Baraj-a-Tzur, remains of a
Crusader fortress. Built on remains of a Byzantine fortress.
Also findings which indicate habitation from the Shivat
Zion to the Ottoman period.
Is packed with cafes, restaurants and snack bars of every
description. Once a rather old-fashioned shopping area,
it has now become the haunt of buyers, jewelry artisans,
flower and newspaper vendors.
On the outskirts of Jerusalem, a holiday village, where
Dinosaur footprints were discovered.
in Jerusalem hills, 7 kilometers southwest of Jerusalem.
Built on the ruins of the ancient town of Betar. It was
an important center after the destruction of the 2nd temple.
Bar Kochba fortified it and made it the center of the
revolt against the Romans for 3 years until he died and
the town was destroyed. Remains of the town wall and of
towers can be seen, other remains indicate that Betar
was inhabited in Israelite time and in the Mishnaic and
Talmudic periods. Today a new town is being built in the
area, populated by orthodox Jewish communities.
Village (El 'Eizariya)
the east of the Mount of Olives where Jesus lodged during
his stay in Jerusalem. The home of Mary and Martha and
the site of Lazarus' resurrection. An Arab village with
a beautiful church on the outskirts of Jerusalem, identified
with Bethany, where Jesus brought Lazarus back from the
A few miles south of Jerusalem, nestled in the Judean
Hills, is the town best known as the place where Jesus
was born. It is also King David's birthplace. The name
Bethlehem means, "house of bread". Under administration
of the Palestinian Authority since 1995.
facade: above the small entrance a small arch o4 the Crusader
entrance. The building was captured intact by the Crusaders
(1099). The Crusaders concentrated especially on decorating
it. Mosaic pictures of numerous saints. The St. Catherine's
cloister. Medieval columns support two Crusader arches.
"Milk Grotto" over which today a small Chapel rise, is
frequently visited by local women, Christians and Moslems
alike, to ask for the intercession of Mary. Mother of
Jesus. A legend recalls how some Mary spilt some milk
while breast feeding baby Jesus and this is the reason
for the "white" stone of the cave. A tradition going back
to the VII century located at this site the burial place
of the innocent victims killed by Herod the Great after
the birth of Jesus.
David's Wells On Star Street
few minutes walk from Manger Square and inside the premises
of the Catholic Action Club, there are three large cisterns,
still in use, hewn in the rock; they are the cisterns
of David mentioned in the Bible. The wells mark the site
where David's followers broke through the Philistine lines
in order to fetch him drinking water from the well of
Bethlehem. David and his 400 men were in the Cave of Adullam,
when the Philistines garrisoned Bethlehem. He expressed
the desire to drink water of the Well of Bethlehem, which
is by the gate. The wish was overheard by three of David's
bodyguards who set out to grant the desire of their master.
Breaking through the Philistine lines, they secured the
precious water and returned with it to the cave. But David
refused to drink the water for which the lives of his
followers had been endangered, and "poured it out unto
the Lord". (2 Samuel 23, 14-16). The three large cisterns
are the only monument in Bethlehem to the famous king
who was born here. Beyond the cisterns there do also St.
Paula and an underground cemetery found remnants of a
church. In 1895 a fragment of a fine mosaic pavement belonging
to the church was found. In the Byzantine era, between
the fourth and sixth century, a convent and church were
built on the site. Open: 8.00-12.00 a.m. 12.30-20.00 p.m..
Monday through Saturday
It is located in the town of Beit Sahour 2 km east of
Bethlehem. This is the site where the angel of the Lord
appeared before the shepherds bringing them the good tidings
of the birth of Jesus, joined with a multitude of heavenly
hosts. Today, a Greek Orthodox Church marks the Shepherd's
Field, with paintings and mosaics depicting the revelation
of the angels to the frightened shepherds. Not far from
there lies the Protestant Shepherds Field, with a grotto
where the shepherds are said to have camped at night.
Also this is where Ruth met Boaz. Opening Hours: Mon.
- Sun 8:00 - 11:30 - 14:00 - 17:00
School of Art and Artists' House
On Rehov Shemu'el Ha-Nagid 10-12. The school, founded
by Boris Schatz 60 years ago, has trained many Israeli
artists. Regular exhibitions and other programmes for
visitors. Restaurant on premises. Open Sun. to Thurs.
10:00 am-1: 00 pm and 4:00 pm-7: 00 pm, Fri. 10:00 am-1:
00 pm, Sat. 11:00 am-2: 00 pm Fee.
one of the world's most important collections depicting
the cultures and civilizations of the ancient lands of
Open Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Thursday 9:30am - 5:30pm
Wednesday 1:30 pm - 9:30pm
Friday & holiday 9:30am-2pm
Saturday 11:00am - 3:00pm
25 Granot St. Tel: 02-5611066. Entrance Fee.
Science & Technology. A celebration of the world in motion,
the strange and wonderful behavior of moving things. Tel:
Open Mon., Wed., Thurs. 10am - 6pm
Tues. 10am - 8pm
Fri. 10am - 1pm
Sat. 10am - 3pm
Ruppin Road, next to Hebrew University, Givat Ram campus.
Gardens of Jerusalem University
occupy the territory of 13 doonams. The Gardens were opened
in 1953. The main idea is scientific research in the field
of planting greenery taking into account climate and geographical
position of the country. Opening hours: Sun, Mon., Tue,
Wed, Thu 10:00-14:00, Till 16:00 in winter Burla St.,
Jerusalem, Givat Ram. Phone: 972-2-6794012
Burnt House (Katros House)
meters under street level a luxu-rious residence from
the end of the Second Temple period which was burned on
September 2nd 70 C.E. An audio-visual presentation in
6 languages is shown at the site every half-hour. Tel:
ever your choice, contact About
Family Travel and let us design your vacation with
your personal needs in mind.